Community Spaces for All Your Activities
Ed and Mary Sue Murray have been foundations of the community since becoming involved with Douglas County and have since touched generations of local children as well as those across the state. Dr. Murray began her work with the Douglas County School System in 1984. At DCSS she served as Director of Staff Development, Director of Personnel, and Assistant Superintendent for Instruction. After her retirement, Mary Sue was appointed to the Georgia Board of Education by Governor Sonny Perdue where she served for 13 years. She also served on the Board of Directors National Association of State Boards of Education.

Mr. Murray served for 12 years on the Douglas County Board of Education and served as Board Chair for 11 of those years. Many innovative programs were implemented during his tenure including the International Baccalaureate program at Douglas County High School and the expansion of the ROTC program to all high schools. Mr. Murray also served as legislative liaison for the Douglas County Board for six years and served on the Federal Relations Network Committee for the Georgia School Board.

The Murrays are members of St. Julian's Episcopal Church and have held leadership positions in many organizations including the Cultural Arts Council, Ama-Kanasta Garden Club, Sweetwater Daughters of the American Revolution, the Chamber of Commerce, the Rotary Club, the WellStar Health Board, and the Douglas County Literacy Council.